Monday, January 27, 2014

Earthquake Due in Midwest Region

Earthquake activity in the United States is not limited to the coastlines, and a study released today indicates that the Midwest region of the United States is due.
At least parts of seven states comprise an area called the New Madrid Seismic Zone, which runs 150 miles within Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee.  The fault also crosses the Mississippi River in three places and the Ohio River twice.  According to the U.S. Geological Survey, these areas are at a high level of risk for earthquakes, even though scientists are still trying to figure out exactly why.
Because this area of the country is located centrally on the North American plate, it is difficult to imagine earthquakes occurring there.  Scientists, however, have gathered evidence that proves that over the past 4,500 years, major earthquakes measured at 7-8 magnitudes have indeed occurred in the Midwest and that the region is due for another. Read More

On the anniversary of Oregon's last devastating earthquake, spend time preparing for the next Cascadia Subduction Zone earthquake - which could strike anytime.
At 9 p.m. on Jan. 26, 1700, a magnitude 9.0 earthquake struck, causing untold devastation to the Pacific Northwest coast and the Native American Tribal communities that made the coast their home. The earthquake, centered about 75 miles offshore, ruptured along the 600-mile fault that runs from southern British Columbia to Northern California.